© William Watt


Our heartfelt thanks to the following people and organisations for supporting the work of The Datai Pledge through their assistance, contribution and advice.

Department of Fisheries Malaysia: Dato’ Haji Munir bin Haji Mohd Nawi (former Director General), Puan Noor Hasmayana Yahaya (Head of Fisheries Resources Management), Tuan Haji Abdul Halim bin Marzuki (Director of Department of Fisheries Kedah), Azahar bin Ahmad (Head of Fisheries, District of Langkawi); Fisheries Research Institute: Daud Awang (Head of Marine Research Station Pulau Layang-Layang), Mohamad Saupi Ismail (Research Officer); fishing communities from Kubang Badak, Teluk Ewa, Kilim, Pantai Pasir Hitam and Teluk Yu; Jonathan Chandrasakaran (former Marine Biologist and Nature Centre Manager, The Datai Langkawi); Dr Wee Hin Boo (Coral Reef Ecologist), Affefah Amanee Ahamed (Langkawi District Forestry Officer), Kedah Forestry Department, Qistina Azman Shakireen, Mohd Syukur Sabarudin, Izzat Mohd and Panjang Tan. 

Thanks also to S.C. Shekar, Sanjitpaal Singh, Tom Reynolds, William Watt and MareCet for use of their photographic images.

Our great appreciation to Nicole Lim (former Fish for the Future pillar leader, The Datai Pledge, and Nature Centre Manager, The Datai Langkawi) and Shakira Mobarak (former Wildlife for the Future pillar leader, The Datai Pledge, and Naturalist, The Datai Langkawi) for their contributions as The Datai Pledge pioneers.

Finally, a special thank you goes out to the over 3,000 guests who donated to The Datai Pledge in its inaugural year during the resort’s limited operation and worldwide slowdown due to the global pandemic. 

You continue to inspire us in our work.